Civil Engagement Group

The Civil Engagement Group operates as a technical group within Seanad Éireann, bringing together a diverse group of individuals with expertise gained from careers across the NGO and civil society sectors.

While each member of the group retains an independent platform and agenda, they are committed to working together to support one another’s strengths and to ensure that the social issues they have campaigned on as civil society actors will be represented in the Seanad. The group has particularly strong interests and expertise in the areas of disability, environment, mental health, women’s rights and education. 

The group has used their allotted private members time in the Seanad to push forward legislation to further the rights of those with disabilities in public housing, to win a motion opposing the provisional application of the Comprehensive Economic Trade Agreement (CETA), and to seek a ban on plastic micro-beads.

Members of the Civil Engagement group are Senators Alice-Mary Higgins (leader), Lynn Ruane (whip), Frances Black and Eileen Flynn. Former members are Colette Kelleher, Grace O'Sullivan and John Dolan.